Targa Florio: 1955-1973

  • Model: 2q14
  • Shipping Weight: 10lbs


Add to Cart:
by Ed Heuvink

Foreword by Nino Vaccarella

Photos by McKlein, LAT & Bernard Cahier

Excellent: 1st place in the ADAC automobile Book Award 2014 in the category Motorsport!

The Targa Florio has a firm place in the "Hall of Fame" of motorsport. The challenge is to continue with the fastest sports cars of the day on the narrow mountain roads of Sicily, is absolutely unique and makes the Targa Florio one of the largest car race in the world. The "Targa" was founded in 1906 and was first time in 1955 the World Sportscar Championship at. In that year, the factory driver Stirling Moss and Peter Collins wore a list of winners at the Mercedes 300 SLR. Until the last race in 1977 were more famous pilots like Wolfgang von Trips, Hans Herrmann, Graham Hill, Vic Elford, Brian Redman and Jo Siffert in their footsteps. However, not only for the best driver for manufacturers such as Porsche and Ferrari, the race was on the Mediterranean island one of the absolute season highlights. In this 400-page book from the house McKlein takes Author Ed Heuvink the reader on a journey into the great years of this spectacular race. The book describes the Targa Florio 1955 to 1973 every year with short, informative text. In addition, it portrays the fascinating drivers and cars, as well as the specifics of the Targa - such as training on public roads - from A to Z. All of this is achieved by large-format images from the archives of Bernard Cahier, LAT and McKlein, including many color photographs from the first world championship years, wonderfully illustrated. The foreword was written by "Professor" Nino Vaccarella. In addition to the headmaster from Palermo and three-time Targa Florio winner come into this high-quality work, many other former heroes to speak.

Hardbound in Slipcase | 400 pages | English, German & Italian Text

This product was added to our catalog on Friday 23 January, 2015.

Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Copyright © 2017 The Motorsport Collector. Powered by Zen Cart